?

Frequently Asked Question #193. What happens if the maximum number of userpics for my account changes?

If the maximum number of userpics for your account changes and you have more userpics currently stored than the new maximum number, some of your userpics will be marked inactive. There are three reasons why this can happen:
Based on your new account type, LiveJournal selects your active userpics by choosing your default userpic, if any, and the userpics you used most in your journal entries over the last two months; this process is not affected by your userpic choices in comments or community entries. When you're logged in, all of your userpics (active or inactive) are shown on your User Pictures page and Edit Userpics page. Other users only see active userpics on your User Pictures page.

Inactive Userpics


Your inactive userpics still show in all old entries or comments, but cannot be used for new entries or comments. Before you can Upload new userpics, you will need to delete enough old userpics to be below the maximum number of userpics for your current account type.
  • Months 0-5: If your account remains without additional packages of service for fewer than six months, your inactive userpics will remain on the server and will be marked active when you pay for your account.

  • Months 6+: If your account remains without additional packages of service for at least six months, your inactive userpics will be removed from the server. You will need to re-upload them if you choose to pay for your account after that point.

Add-on Userpic Space


If your account with Professional package of service or add-on userpic space expires, LiveJournal will deactivate enough of your least-used userpics to bring you to your account's standard limit.

If you account with Professional package of service expires and you have remaining larger account with Professional package of service add-on userpic time, LiveJournal saves the number of days remaining before your larger account with Professional package of service add-on expires so it will be available with more time of this package. If your add-on userpic space itself expires, you will need to buy more.

Last Updated: April 3rd, 2017

FAQ Navigation

Ask a Question

If you can't find what you're looking for, open a support request and we'll get back to you.