| russ ( @ 2004-11-28 12:28:00 |
is metrospy real or a spoof?
http://www.metrospy.com/
Is this site real or a parody? It seems very over-the-top, with merchandise like the t-shirt to "Support our Marine who Shot the Wounded Insurgent". There are plenty of sites that pretend to support one political group but are really spoofing them to make them look bad, but usually those sites have some clear tell-tale winks like a link to Landover Baptist... Metrospy makes no such clear wink. Plus they sell some non-over-the-top rightwing stuff like bumperstickers for Bush along with weird bumperstickers like the "Conservative values" sticker with icons for Christianity, straight family, fetus, flag, and gun that has a stylized ironic look to it. And Our Story is simultaneously over-the-top, yet like some swaggering rhetoric I've seen on right-wing sites. I also noted some of the pull-down menus to select t-shirt size have prices of $0, which makes it seem not real after all, but then it nonetheless fills in the order form with $17.99 as quoted in the descriptive text, so maybe that was just a technical glitch. So I haven't decided if it's a for real rightwing site, or a leftist spoof trying to make rightwingers look bad, or some apolitical guys who are just trying to stir up controversy and get attention. Anyone know more about them?
Poll #392934 is it for real?
Open to: All, detailed results viewable to: All
Temas pri mistera retpaĝaro kiu vendas tre dekstremajn varojn, ekzemple t-ĉemizon kun tekston "Subtenu nian Marsoldaton, kiu Pafis la Vunditan Insurgenton"... mi ne povas decidi ĉu ĝi estas reala, aŭ parodio. Ili ankaŭ vendas ordinarajn varojn (ekz glumarkojn por Bush) kaj la retpaĝaro havas neniujn klarajn indikojn ke temas pri ŝerco por parodii dekstremulojn, do eble ili sinceras. Aŭ eble ili vere estas nepolitikaj kaj nur volas ofendi homojn kaj gajni atenton. Ne klaras!
http://www.metrospy.com/
Is this site real or a parody? It seems very over-the-top, with merchandise like the t-shirt to "Support our Marine who Shot the Wounded Insurgent". There are plenty of sites that pretend to support one political group but are really spoofing them to make them look bad, but usually those sites have some clear tell-tale winks like a link to Landover Baptist... Metrospy makes no such clear wink. Plus they sell some non-over-the-top rightwing stuff like bumperstickers for Bush along with weird bumperstickers like the "Conservative values" sticker with icons for Christianity, straight family, fetus, flag, and gun that has a stylized ironic look to it. And Our Story is simultaneously over-the-top, yet like some swaggering rhetoric I've seen on right-wing sites. I also noted some of the pull-down menus to select t-shirt size have prices of $0, which makes it seem not real after all, but then it nonetheless fills in the order form with $17.99 as quoted in the descriptive text, so maybe that was just a technical glitch. So I haven't decided if it's a for real rightwing site, or a leftist spoof trying to make rightwingers look bad, or some apolitical guys who are just trying to stir up controversy and get attention. Anyone know more about them?
Poll #392934 is it for real?
Open to: All, detailed results viewable to: All
is metrospy.com for real?
View Answers
Yes, they are edgy hip slick rightwingers![]()
![]()
4 (36.4%)
No, they are edgy hip slick leftwingers spoofing rightwingers![]()
![]()
5 (45.5%)
No, they are just apolitical people trying to create controversy and offend people![]()
![]()
1 (9.1%)
Damned if I can tell, it's totally ambiguous![]()
![]()
2 (18.2%)
Temas pri mistera retpaĝaro kiu vendas tre dekstremajn varojn, ekzemple t-ĉemizon kun tekston "Subtenu nian Marsoldaton, kiu Pafis la Vunditan Insurgenton"... mi ne povas decidi ĉu ĝi estas reala, aŭ parodio. Ili ankaŭ vendas ordinarajn varojn (ekz glumarkojn por Bush) kaj la retpaĝaro havas neniujn klarajn indikojn ke temas pri ŝerco por parodii dekstremulojn, do eble ili sinceras. Aŭ eble ili vere estas nepolitikaj kaj nur volas ofendi homojn kaj gajni atenton. Ne klaras!