Log in

Frequently Asked Question #288. How do I downgrade to Basic? What happens when I downgrade from Plus to Basic?

You may downgrade from a Plus Account to a Basic Account at the Downgrade to Basic page. Please note that you will be unable to view the page if you do not currently have a Plus Account. If you currently have a Paid Account you will need to wait for your paid time to expire before you can downgrade.

Basic Accounts offer fewer features than Plus Accounts or Paid Accounts, but when logged in users with a Basic Account will see less advertising than with a Plus account. Switching from a Plus Account to a Basic Account will reduce the limits offered for some features, and remove the ability to use other features. A full list of all affected features can be seen on this comparison chart - some of the major feature changes are highlighted below.

personal account userhead icon Personal accounts

Your base limit will decrease from 15 to 6. Pictures over this limit will be marked as inactive.

Scrapbook photo hosting
You will not be able to upload new photos to Scrapbook. However, all your old photos that are already uploaded to Scrapbook will be stored where you'll be able to manage them & add them to entries and comments.

You will no longer be able to use the advanced search options.

Mobile posting
You will no longer be able to make mobile or voice posts.

Your most recent 25 subscriptions will remain active. All other subscriptions will be deactivated, but not deleted. Your active subscriptions will not include any event types that a Basic account cannot subscribe to.

community account icon personal account userhead icon Community and personal accounts

You will lose theme and layout settings if you are using a theme or layout only available to Plus and Paid accounts.

Last Updated: July 16th, 2012

FAQ Navigation

Ask a Question

If you can't find what you're looking for, open a support request and we'll get back to you.