?

Log in

Frequently Asked Question #15. Can I edit/delete/screen/freeze a comment I posted or that was posted in my journal?

Comments can be deleted, frozen or screened. In addition, you can edit a comment you posted until someone has replied to it.

Editing Comments


You can edit a comment if all of the following are true:
  • You posted the comment yourself (you need to be logged in as the author of the comment.)
  • The comment has never been replied to.
  • The comment or its parent thread has not been frozen.
Edit a comment by clicking the pencil icon. A comment that has been edited will include information on when it was last edited; this information may not appear if your journal theme isn't set to show it. You lose the ability to edit your comment when someone replies to it, even when that person deletes their response.


Deleting Comments


You can delete a comment if one of the following is true:
  • You posted the comment yourself. (You need to be logged in as the author of the comment.)
  • The comment is posted in your journal. (You need to be logged in as the owner of the journal.)
  • The comment is posted in a community journal which you maintain. (You need to be logged in as a maintainer of the community.)
  • The comment is posted to an entry you made in a community journal. (You need to be logged in as the author of the entry.)
Delete a comment by clicking the button with the red "X" on it and confirming your intention to delete the comment. Once deleted, a comment cannot be undeleted. You will have the option to delete the entire thread, if you are the author of the entry (or the community maintainer). If you select and confirm that you want to delete the entire thread, you will not only delete the comment in question, but all replies to that comment, replies to these replies, and so on. You may see a page confirming that the deletion was successful, or the entry page may just refresh without the comment.

You cannot delete anonymous comments that you post in other journals or communities. Only the author of the entry (or the community maintainer) is able to delete anonymous comments.


Freezing & Unfreezing Comments


Freezing a comment thread makes it impossible for anyone to reply to it anymore. You can freeze a comment thread if one of the following is true:
  • The comment is posted in your journal. (You need to be logged in as the owner of the journal.)
  • The comment is posted in a community journal which you maintain. (You need to be logged in as a maintainer of the community.)
  • The comment is posted to an entry you made in a community journal. (You need to be logged in as the author of the entry.)
Freeze a thread by clicking on the ice cube icon on the comment that started the thread, and confirming your intention to freeze the comment. If the freezing is successful, you may be taken to a page that reports the success or the entry page may refresh with frozen comments. This will freeze the comment and all comments in its thread (that is, all replies to that comment, all replies to those replies, and so on). Unfreeze a thread and allow people to reply to the comments again by clicking on the ice cube icon with a red line through it and confirming your intention to unfreeze. This will unfreeze the entire thread started by the comment in question, and not just the comment itself.

If you want to freeze the majority of a thread, but leave part of it unfrozen (that is, able to be replied to) you will first need to freeze the entire thread, and then unfreeze the part of the thread you want people to be able to reply to.


Screening & Unscreening Comments


You can screen a comment if one of the following is true:
  • The comment is posted in your journal. (You need to be logged in as the owner of the journal.)
  • The comment is posted in a community journal which you maintain. (You need to be logged in as a maintainer of the community.)
  • The comment is posted to an entry you made in a community journal. (You need to be logged in as the author of the entry.)
Screen a comment by clicking the eye icon with the red line through it and confirming your intention to screen the comment. If the screening is successful, you may be taken to a page that reports the success or the entry page may refresh with screened comments. Unscreen a screened comment by clicking the eye icon (which doesn't have a red line through it), and confirming your intention to unscreen the comment. Unlike deleting or freezing comments, it is not possible to screen or unscreen an entire thread at once. You may also be interested in setting screening options for your entire journal or community.


The "Mass Action" Option


If you want to delete, screen, or unscreen multiple comments, use the Mass Action option at the bottom of the comment page. Select those comments by checking the boxes to the right of the eye icon, and then use the drop-down box at the bottom of the page to select the action you wish to perform. Confirm your choice by clicking the Perform Action button. It is not possible to freeze or unfreeze comments with the Mass Action option.

When you use the Mass Action option to screen comments, you will not see a confirmation box as you would if you chose to perform the actions on comments individually. However, you will see a confirmation box when using the Mass Action option to delete comments. Still, you should always be careful when using this option to delete comments, since there is no way to retrieve deleted comments.

Last Updated: April 4th, 2012

FAQ Navigation

Ask a Question

If you can't find what you're looking for, open a support request and we'll get back to you.