Log in

Frequently Asked Question #119. How do I edit or delete an entry in a community?

You can edit or delete your community entry as long as you currently have posting access to that community. Depending on the settings of the community, you may also be able to add, edit, or delete entry tags. If you are a community owner or maintainer, you can always add, edit, or delete entry tags; you can also delete other users' community entries, but you cannot change their security settings, subjects or entry text.
When editing entries, you can view all entries posted in the community. However, you will only be able to save your changes if you are authorized to edit or delete the individual entry you are viewing.

Remember that there is no way to reverse your changes once you edit or delete an entry. If you delete an entry, any comments left on it will also be made inaccessible. If you think you might change your mind, you should save the text elsewhere before making the change.

Using the Web Interface

Go to the "Read Comments" page for the entry you want to edit. You can get to this page by clicking on the entry's comment links if comments are enabled, or by using the community's Calendar view. Click on the Edit Entry button (a blue pencil icon) on the small blue toolbar near the top of the page. This will take you to the Edit Journal Entry page.

You can also get to the Edit Journal Entry page by using the Edit Journal Entries page. This page allows you to choose an entry to edit either from your most recent entries or from a specific date. When using this page, you will need to specify which community you want to retrieve entries from.

From there you can make the changes you want. To delete an entry, click the "Delete Entry" button. To edit an entry, make the changes to the text, then click "Save Entry" to save your changes. You may also preview your changes before saving by clicking "Preview".

Using a Downloaded Client

Many clients available for download can edit and delete journal entries. For information on a specific client, consult its documentation or its menu options.

Error Messages

  • Client error: Invalid text encoding: Cannot display non-Unicode posts unless default encoding has been selected: the community owner or maintainer will need to set the default encoding for the community.

  • Posting Access: If you are the author of the entry and receive the error message "Client error: Don't have access to requested journal" when you try to edit or delete an entry, it means that you do not have posting access to the community. You will need to rejoin the community if you have left it, or contact an owner or maintainer of the community to have them grant you posting access.

Last Updated: April 24th, 2013

FAQ Navigation

Ask a Question

If you can't find what you're looking for, open a support request and we'll get back to you.